A Complete Meal

In laws are out of town for a few days.  That means I get a break; a mental break but not a physical one consider I now have to take care of the house, the two dogs and the plants in addition to Kay and Wesley and my dear hubby.  Well, I am not complaining.  It is worth every ounce of my energy because I am happy to do more when I am free of any comments and scrutiny.  Sooooo I cooked a complete meal today and I am really happy with what I have put on the dining table!!

I cooked the first dish, black vinegar pork leg, last night.  This is my mom’s specialty and she cooks it so well that no other’s black vinegar pork leg that I have tried could top hers so far.  I am inspired to cook this dish as good as my mom’s.  (moommm I miss you so much!!)

Black Vinegar Pork Leg (serve 2 persons)

Black Vinegar Pork Leg

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 600gm pork leg
  • 500gm black vinegar
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 150 gm brown rock sugar
  • 200gm ginger, cut into cube (you may use more or less portion, depending on your preference)
  • 2 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 2 hard boiled eggs, removed shelves

 

My Method

  1. Heat oil. 
  2. Add garlic, ginger and pork leg and stir fry until pork leg turns light brown.  About 5 minutes.
  3. Add black vinegar and rock sugar and bring it to boil.
  4. Add soy sauce.
  5. Add boiled eggs.
  6. Let pork leg continues to cook for two hours under low heat.
  7. Stir the pork leg occassionally.

The longer the pork leg and ginger sit in the sauce, the tenderier and tastier they are.  So I recommend that you let them sit in the sauce overnight.  Just reheat them before you serve.  I like my sauce sour and thick so depending on individual’s preference you may add more sugar to dilute if you find the sauce too sour.  You may add some water if the sauce is too thick for you or you can continue to cook the pork leg for another hour under low heat if you like the sauce thick.

Oh dear! I am drooling just looking at my own pictures. *slurp slurp*

Tomato Stew with Tofu (Serve 2 adult and a baby :D)

Tomatoes Stew with Tofu

You will find the ingredients and cooking method from this blog – http://www.tastehongkong.com/recipes/tomatoes-stew-with-tofu/

I stumbled across this recipe and blog as I was surfing the net and I thought I hit a jackpot when I read the ingredients and cooking method.  This is a dish that is healthy, tasty and easy to cook.  Although it takes time to prepare but it is just what I need to complete our meal today.

Serve both the dishes with nice warm white rice. 

(I hear mmmmmmm………….) :D

5 thoughts on “A Complete Meal

    • Beef may not work that well for this dish because of its’ texture plus beef is cooked really fast. The reason pork leg is used because of it’s fat and skin. :D Let me find out if other kind of meat will be able to replace pork in this dish.

  1. Oh…. NO….. another recipe that make me home sick leh! My supercook at home’s specialty too! Remember my confinement lady? Oh… I love her cooking too!

    Yummy yummy… must get my mom-in-law to cook when she is here (although not as tasty as my mom’s, shh…… shhhh….. :P )

I like to hear from you about this post. Share your thoughts here.....

