Starbuck Pumpkin Spice Latte

Return of the Starbuck’s Pumpkin Spice Latte

The Starbuck Pumpkin Spice Latte, a beverage for Fall in the North America region, has made its’ return this year.   This latte has been around for 7 years and it almost feels like a Fall tradition for Starbuck lovers.  However for me, this is the first time I have heard about it.   That explains why I was excited to get my hands on a cup of the Pumpkin Spice Latte when it hits the stores. 

This latte is not available in Malaysia, where I came from.  In Malaysia, a tropical country, raining, constructions and monsoon are the only seasons people experienced.  Likewise for the starbuck beverages back home, they stay the same except for festive seasons. 

Sooo yesterday I dragged my husband along to Starbuck to get ourselves a cup of the Pumpkin Spice Latte.   The beverage looks delicious and I took a nice deep sniff of the latte as soon as it was handed to me, like I usually would.  While I was expecting some nice coffee aroma, my senses were treated with mustardly and spicy smells that almost choked me.  The aroma of this latte is rather “unique”.  It smell more like a cup of mixed spices (could not point my finger to which spice) instead of a cup of coffee, and to my very own standards, I would rate it as smelly.  Yes, smelly.  For a moment, I was holding the cup of latte contemplating if I should drink it or toss it.

Then, my left brain told my right brain that since I have already paid for it, I should at least take a sip…..and I was glad that I took that sip.  The taste of the Pumpkin Spice Latte is totally different from its’ smell.  It is soothing sweet, but not too sweet, and I can hardly taste any of the spices and definitely not mustardly, hence making it easy to drink.  In fact it tasted quite like the French Vanilla Cappuccino from Tim Hortons. Phew! 

Starbuck Pumpkin Spice Latte

So what so special about this latte?  I understand it is made of a blend of pumpkin and traditional fall spice flavors, such as cinnamon, clove, ginger and nutmeg, combined with Starbuck’s signature espresso and freshly steamed milk, topped with whipped cream and pumpkin pie spices.  I am not a huge fan of pumpkin but I respect the food for its’ nutritions so I will definitely go back again for the Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Only next time I will remember not to smell it.  Probably should chew some gums too after drinking the latte. 😀

I am curious to know what are the “interesting” Starbuck beverages you have came across in your country.  Do share.

Have a lovely and enjoyable Fall!!  For those of you in Malaysia, enjoy your Starbuck latte too! 😉

4 thoughts on “Starbuck Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. Hmmm.. “Pumpkin Spice Latte” I don’t think there is a seasonal change of menu in Starbuck UK… twice my Reading Starbuck cappuccino disappointed me that I swore not to return to that store ever again!

    But pumpkin is one of my favourite fruit and I will surely love this one too! So when fall comes, we bought loads of pumpkins not to carve out spooky face but to actually cook and eat it. I’m thinking even if Pumpkin Spice Latte is not spiced up, the spice and sugar table of Starbucks allows you to pour more nutmeg, cinnamon and chocolates and all spices to it! But I do love clove…

    Glad you had a good coffee day. A good coffee day is always a good day for me! 😉

    • Sorry about your experience with Starbuck. Hope you have found other coffee that you love. Pumpkin is a seasonal food here too. I am hoping to make pumpkin soup for Kay sometime next week.

      Have a good coffee day too!!

  2. Was there any pumpkin chunk in the latte?

    Starbucks is my favourite cafe as my mood will be very good whenever I visit them. Perhaps you would have the same feeling too 🙂

    Enjoy your latte! and pumpkin… and spices too 🙂

    • No chunk of couse. Starbuck is my favourite cafe too, I always check their mugs and other merchandises there. Now I hold a Starbuck reward card!! 😀 Unfortunately I do not have the time to hang out at Starbuck now but I will need a dose of Starbuck coffee tomorrow because it is Kay’s first day at the dayhome. Mixed feelings now….

I like to hear from you about this post. Share your thoughts here.....